top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecoprosmabooks

Making dumplings with my little dumplings 🥟 ⁣


Making dumplings with my little dumplings 🥟 ⁣

Teaching kids their heritage language in an English speaking country is a hard job! They are surrounded by English and kiwi culture all the time. So one of the things I try really hard to do is to make Cantonese/Chinese culture fun and what better way to do that than through food. ⁣

It’s also a lovely opportunity to share stories of my family with the kids. Of how my Dad, their Gung gung, was an incredible cook and we are still using the big Chinese cleaver he used to use. Of how we used to meet up with family friends and do big dumpling cooking sessions, everyone sitting around the table folding dozens upon dozens of little white 餃子 “gao-zi”. Of how a wonderful “auntie” friend came over in those blurry hard weeks after dad passed away and cooked for us and taught us her delicious gao-zi recipe. The very recipe I still use today.⁣

Food. Family. Culture. Heritage. Language. Love.⁣

It’s all about love really, isn’t it? ❤️ ⁣

Photo reposted from my blog @bakingequalslove⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

•⠀⁣

⠀⁣

15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page